The Arc- Jefferson, Clear Creek & Gilpin Counties General Membership Annual Meeting Wednesday, June 26, 2024 Convened at 6:00 PM Meeting via Zoom and Conference Call

Board Members Present

Rob Smariga, President Sharon Yee, Vice President Dave Norwood, Treasurer Helen Pietranczyk, Secretary Caryn Quinkert, Immediate Past President Teena Cooper Zachariah Fernandez Christine Plentyhoops

Staff Members Present

Lori Ropa, Executive Director

<u>Welcome</u>

Veronica Wernsman, The Arc's Development & Engagement Specialist, opened the meeting; she shared how this meeting will be conducted on Zoom, using chat to ask questions or make comments. She also reminded the audience that only members of The Arc may vote; you are considered a member if you have made a donation in the past year or if you've told us you want to be a member during the advocacy process. Veronica then introduced Lori Ropa, Executive Director.

Lori Ropa, Executive Director of The Arc

Lori shared two stories of people (names were changed to respect their privacy) who received advocacy support from The Arc; the outcomes were overwhelmingly positive, and exemplified the work that is done on a regular basis by the advocates. She also shared the advocacy restructure and the creation of a new age group, Teen and Young Adults (age 14-34) as a specific focus, because of the significant transitions that occur during that timeframe. Lori also spoke about the new Senior Director of Advocacy Programs as well as the planned new Consultant Advocacy. She also asked the audience to respond to the Advocacy Experience Survey, coming soon. Lori then introduced Rob Smariga, Board President

Rob Smariga, Board President

Rob thanked everyone for being here tonight, and then spoke about the Board's work this past year, in several areas.

- The Board selected four Drivers of Change to explore and engage in discussion. They
 are Next Gen Professionals; Access, Equity & Inclusion; Philanthropy Reshaped and
 Volunteering. Each topic was researched and discussed by a small subgroup of
 board members, along with one person who was not a board member but was able
 to contribute to the topic. This ensured an external point of view during discussion.
 These discussions were fruitful, tying the topics to our strategic goals; results were
 shared with and discussed with all Board members. Additional work on these
 topics, and decisions, will be made this year.
- The Board also committed to recruit and add three new Board members this fiscal year, which was accomplished. You'll hear more about that shortly.
- Lastly, the Board committed to participating in and contributing to three events; the Summit of Hope Fundraising event, the Josh Blue Community Awareness event, and the newly developed Board Meet & Greet, held at 240 Union to give the Board and the community an opportunity to hear more about The Arc in a more intimate manner.

Rob then introduced Helen Pietranczyk, Board Secretary and Chair of the Governance Committee.

Approval of the 2023 Annual Membership Meeting Minutes Helen Pietranczyk, Secretary

Helen motioned to approve the minutes of the Annual Membership Meeting of 2023. Rob Smariga seconded the motion; the members voted electronically and by phone to pass the motion. This also included any ballots that were mailed in.

<u>Reelection of Current Board Members and Election of New Board Members</u> <u>Helen Pietranczyk, Chair of the Governance Committee</u>

Helen recapped the previously publicized bios for Dave Norwood, and Helen Pietranczyk.

Helen motioned to accept the slate of candidates for reelection to two-year terms. Rob Smariga seconded the motion; the members voted electronically and by phone. Helen announced that both Dave and Helen were reelected. Helen then introduced three new Board members and recapped their bios, also previously published: Jacob Hollars, Molly Kirkham, and Christine Plentyhoops. Helen motioned to accept this slate of new candidates for two-year terms. Rob Smariga seconded the motion; the members voted electronically and by phone. Helen announced that all three nominees were elected. Helen then turned the meeting back to Rob Smariga.

Recognition for Outgoing Board Members Rob Smariga, Board President

Rob recognized Dave Miller and Mark Lancaster for their many years of service and significant contributions to The Arc over the past eleven years. Dave served as Vice President for many of those years, and Mark served as the Chair of the Guardianship Committee. Both will be missed!

Rob also recognized two former Board members who continued to volunteer on the Guardianship Committee, even after leaving the Board. Deb Karsell and Sherri Potter both continued to contribute to the committee and support those for whom The Arc is legal guardian for many years. Thank you for your service!

Adjournment

Rob adjourned the meeting at 6:25pm.

Respectfully submitted, Helen Pietranczyk, Secretary